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A Guide to the Massachusetts... 

Smo'ke & 

Carbon M,onoxide 

Requirements 

...when Selling a One­
or Two-Family Residence 

Department of Fire Services 
PO BOX 1025· STOW, MA 01775·978-567-3300 

www.mass.gov/dfs 
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M.G.L. C148 S. 26F - THE LAW 


Ivfassachusetts General Law, chapter 148 section 26F 
mandates that upon the sale or transfer of certain homes, 
the seller must install approved smoke detectors. These 
requirements apply to residences that were built or modified 
prior to creation of the :tYfassachusetts State Building Code 
Oanuary 1, 1975). If a building has undergone renovation, 
addition or modification after Jan. 1, 1975, the date of the 
building permit detenrunes the smoke detector requirements 
of the building code. 

Although the transfer law applies to residences "with five or 
less residential units, this pamphlet will focus only on one­
and two-family homes. 

VERIFICATION 

After a successful inspection for smoke detector cOlnpliance, 
the local fixe department will issue a Certificate of 
Compliance indica~ that the residence meets the smoke 
detector requirements. 

Although the law applies to homes built prior to the date 
of 'the building code Garr. 1975), it is industry practice that 
most purchase and sales agreements, and many mortgage 
comprulies require that the seller, as a condition to sell or 
transfer, obtain a Certi£ic~te of Compliance issued by the 
local fire department, even if the home was permitted or 
modified after 1975. 

SMOKE DETECTOR REQUIREMENTS 

In genera~ the requirements for slnoke detectors vary 
depending on when the residence was constructed. For 
example, some residences may require battery-powered 
detectors, others might need interconnected hard-wired 
detectors only or a conlbination of both. Others lnight need 



interconnected hard-wired detectors with battery backup. 
On AprilS, 2010, a significant change in the Massachusetts' 
smoke detector requirements will become effective for 
all residences subject to 11GL c. 148, s. 26F upon sale or 
transfer. Now, all smoke detectors installed within 20 feet 
of kitchens or bathrooms (containing a bathtub or shower) 
will be required to be photoelectric detectors. The risk of 
nuisance al.a.rms from steam and cooking is lower ~-i.th 
photoelectric only detectors. All installed smoke detectors 
outside of 20 feet of kitchens or bathrooms (containing a 
bathtub or shower) must utilize either: 

• 	 A DUAL detector (containing both ionization 
and photoelectric technologies); OR 

• 	 Two separate detectors (one photoelectric 
and one ionization). 

In residences not subject to 11GL c. 148, s. 26F (built after 
Jan. 1975), the smoke detector upgrade is recommended, but 
is not required by law. 

PHOTOELECTRIC VS. IONIZATION TECHNOLOGIES 

Ionization smoke detectors: 

- Use radiation to detect smoke. 


-More effective in detecting flaming fires. 


- Increased risk of nuisance alarms caused by steam or 

cooking smoke. 

Photoelectric smoke detectors: 

-	 Use light to detect smoke. 

• 	 More effective in detecting smoldering fires, which 
have been attributed to more fires involving death. 

• 	 Low voltage or ,~.'ireless low voltage systems only use 
photoelectric detectors. 



CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS 


1vfassachusetts General Law, chapter 148 section 26FY2 and 
527 Cl\:IR 31 mandates that upon the sale or transfer of 
any residence, the local fire department must inspect the 
residence for carbon monoxide alarm compliance. After a 
successful inspection, the local fire department will. issue a 
Certificate of Compliance inclicating that the residence meets 
the carbon lnonoxide alarm requirements. 

CARBON MONOXIDE ALARM REQUIREMENTS 

Since !'v'iarch 31, 2006, carbon monoxide alarms have been 
required in all residences that have either: fossil fuel burl1ing 
equipment or an attached enclosed garage. This law applied 
to all such residences whether or not the residence is being 
sold or transferred. 

WHAT IS FOSSIL FUEL BURNING EQUIPMENT? 

Fossil fuel burning equipment is any device, apparatus 
or appliance that is designed or used to consume fuel of 
any kind which emits carbon monoxide as a by-product 
of combustion. Some examples of a fossil fuel burning 
equipment include: water heaters, oil or gas furnaces, wood 

.	or gas £replaces, wood pellet stoves, gas clothes dryers, or gas 
cooking sto,\res. 

HOW WILLI KNOW WHAT I NEED? 

The word "typical" is used in the following guidelines only 
for purposes of illustration. The actual requirements may 
depend on when the building pernut for the residence 
was actually applied for and if there have been any 1najor 
renovations, additions or modifications. It is best to check 
'\N-ith your local fire department for detailed guidance. 



Typical one- and two-fa1i1il.y residences 
built before January 1, 1975: 

• 	 Smoke detectors are required as follows: 

• 	On every habitable level of the residence. 

• 	On the ceiling at the base of each stairway. 

• 	On the ceiling outside of each separate sleeping 
area. 

• 	The smoke de,tectors may either be battery 
powered, hardwired or a combination of the two. 

• 	If the smoke detector is located within 20 feet of 
a kitchen or bathroOlTI (containing a bathtub or 
shower), the smoke detector '\vill be required to be 
a photoelectric detector. 

• 	If the smoke detector is outside of 20 feet of a 
kitchen or a bathroom (containing a bathtub or 
shower) you must utilize either: 

• A dual detector (containing both ionization and 
photoelectric technologies); OR 

• Two separate detectors (one photoelectric and 
one ionization). 

• 	 Low voltage household warning systems are 
exempt from the dual detection requirement. 

• 	 Carbon monoxide alarms are required 
as follows: 

• 	On every level of the residence, including 
habitable portions of basements and attics and 
must be located "Within 10 feet of each 
bedroOlTI door. 

• Combination detectors (photoelectric sl1~oke 
and carbon monoxide detector) may be used 
if the detector is within 20 feet of a kitchen or 
bathroom (containing a bathtub or sho'wer). 

• Combination detectors (ionization s1110ke and 
carbon monoxide detector) n~ay be used if the 
detector is outside of 20 feet of a kitchen or 



bathroom (containing a bathtub or shower). 

• I\1ay be either: battery powered, plug-in with 
battery back"Up, hardwired with battery backup, or . 
system type. 

• Follow the manufacturer's instructions for 
placement. 

Typical one- arid two-family residences 
permitted between 1975 and August 27,1997: 

• 	 Smoke detectors are required as follows: 
• 	One smoke detector on every habitable level of 

the residence. 

• 	One smoke detector on the ceiling at the base of 
each stall"way. 

• 	One smoke detector on the. ceiling outside of 
each separate sleeping area. 

• A minimum of one smoke detector must be 
installed for every 1,200 square feet of livwg 
space per leveL 

• Must be hardwired interconnected smoke 
detectors. 

• 	 Carbon monoxide alarms are required as 

follows: 


• 	On every level of the residence, including 
habitable portions of basements and attics and 
must be located within 10 feet of each bedroom 
door. 

• Combination detectors (photoelectric smoke 
and carbon lTIonoxide detector) may be used 
anywhere. 

• Combination detectors (ionization smoke and 
carbon monoxide detector) may be used if the 
detector is outside of 20 feet of a kitchen or 
bathroom (containing a bathtub or shower). 

• 1,1ay be either: battery powered, plug-in with 
battery backup, hardwired with battery backup, or 
system type. 



• Follow the manufacturer's instructions for 
placement. 

Typical one- and two-family residences 
permitted after August 27, 1997: 

• Smoke detectors are required as. follows: 
• 	One smoke detector on every habitable level of 

the residence. 

• 	One slnoke detector at the base of each stairway. 

• 	One smoke detector outside of each separate 
sleeping area. 

• 	One smoke detector inside every bedroom. 

• A minimum of one smoke detector must be 
installed for every 1,200 square feet of living 
space per level. 

• 1fust be hardwired and interconnected smoke 
detectors with battery back-up. 

• 	If the smoke detector is within 20 feet of a 
kitchen or bathroom (containing a bathtub or 
shower), the smoke detector is required to be a 
photoelectric detector. 

• 	 Carbon monoxide alarms are required as 
follows: 

• 	On every level of the residence, including 
habitable portions of basements and attics and 
must be located within 10 feet of each bedroom 
door. 

• Combination detectors (photoelectric smoke 
and carbon monoxide detector) may be used 
anywhere.· 

• Combination detectors ~onization smoke and 
carbon monoxide detector) may be used if the 
detector is outside of 20 feet of a kitchen or 
bathroom (containing a bathtub or shower). 

• J\.1ay be either: battery powered, plug-in with 
battery backup, hardwired \~rith battery backup, or 
system type. 



• Follow the manufacturer's instructions for 
placement. 

Typical one- and two-family residences 
permitted on or after January 1, 2008: 

• Smoke detectors are required as follows: 

• 	One smoke detector on every habitable level of 
the residence. 

• 	One smoke detector at the base of each stairway. 

• 	One smoke detector outside of ~ach separate 
sleeping area. 

• 	One smoke detector inside evety bedroom. 

• A minimum. of one smoke detector must be 
installed for every 1,200 square feet of living 
space per level. 

• 1fust be hardwired and interconnected smoke 
detectors with battery backup. 

• If the smoke detector is within 20 feet of a 
kitchen or bathroom (contajning a bathtub or 
shower), the smoke detector is required to be a 
photoelectric detector. 

• 	If the smoke detector is outside of 20 feet of 
a kitchen or a bathroom (containing a bathtub 
or shower), the smoke detector is required to be 
either a photoelectric detector or a dual detector 
(containing both ionization and photoelectric 
technologies) . 

• 	 Carbon monoxide alarms are required 

as follows: 


• 	On every level of the residence, including 
habitable portions of basements and attics and 
located within 10 feet of each bedroom door. 

• COlnbination detectors (photoelectric smoke and 
carbon monoxide detector) may be used. 

• Must be hardwired and interconnected with 
battery backup. (l\.fay be separately ",rired from 
the existing smoke detection system.) 
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• Follow the manufacturer's instructions for 
placement. 

• Heat detectors are required as follows: 

• Ivlust have a single heat detector in any garage 
attached to or under the residence. 

• 1·fust be hardwired and interconnected widl or 
without battery backup to the existing smoke 
detection system. 

• Heat detectors are not required in older homes 
unless renovation, addition or modi£ication occurs 

. after Jan. 1,2008. 

HOW WILL I GET A 
CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE? 

After you have a closing date: 

• 	 Contact the local fire department to schedule an 
inspection of your smoke and carbon monoxide 
detectors right away. Don't wait until the last minute! 

• 	 Fees are determined by each cityI town . 

Prior to the arrival of the fire department: 

• 	 Make sure that your posted street number is 
visible from the street (MGL c.148 § 59); 

• 	 Make sure that you have the proper type of 
detectors. 

• The local fire department may require that dley be 
taken down for compliance ve.ti1ication. 

• 1·1ake sure that all detectors are installed in dle 
proper locations. 

• !vlake sure that all detectors are working properly. 

• 	 Mter passing the inspection, the local fire 
department 'Will issue your Certificate of 
Compliance. 



• This document -will probably be required at the 
closing and is only valid for 60 days. 

HOW DO I KNOW WHICH 

KIND OF SMOKE DETECTOR I HAVE? 


A new detector should be marked on the outside of the 
package to indicate if it uses ionization or photoelectric 
technology. 

For older or existing detectors you -will need to remove the 
smoke detector and look on the backside. 

• 	 The date of manufacture should be on 
the back; if not, the detector is most likely 
outdated and should be replaced to comply 
with the regulation. 

• 	 I t is an ionization smoke detector if the word 
"AMERI CIUM" or the following symbol is 
on the back: 

CAN I STILL HAVE IONIZATION 
SMOKE DETECTORS IF I AM NOT SELLING OR 
TRANSFERRING MY HOME? 

• Y·es. The requirements ill the new regulation only 
apply upon the sale or transfer of the residence. 

• Even though the technology has changed, ionization 
detectors are still reliable. 

• However, the risk of nuisance alarms fro111 steam 
and cooking is-higher with ionization detectors, 
particularly if located within 20 ft of a kitchen or 
bathroom. 



ARE COMBINATION CARBON MONOXIDE 
&SMOKE DETECTORS PERMITTED? 

• 	 Yes. Combination carbon monoxide and smoke 
detectors are permitted. 

• 	 They must have both a tone and simulated voice 
alarm to distinguish the type of emergency. Carbon 
monoxide detectors are required regardless of a sale 
or transfer. 

• 	 Combination ionization and CO detectors cannot be 
used within 20 ft of a kitchen or bathroom 

ARE THERE OTHER RECOMMENDATIONS? 

The State Fire Marshal's Office recommends: 

• 	 Test your smoke and CO detectors monthly 
and replace the batteries twice a year. 
REMEMBER, when you change the clocks, 
change the batteries. . 

• Unless othernrise recommended bv the 
.I 

manufacturer's published instructions, no smoke 
detectors (battery operated or hard-wired smoke 
detectors only!) shall remain in service after 10 
years from the date of manufacture. 


