Women of the Year

The Brookline Commission for Women’s longest-standing tradition, Brookline Woman of the Year honors women from the community who have made a significant impact on the town and on the people who live here.

2022 Brookline Women Who Inspire Us

Join us tonight, March 23, 2022 at 7:30 pm! Didn't register? The event will be streamed by Brookline Interactive Group on YouTube, FB, and the BIG website. Cable Information: Government Channel - Brookline Comcast 23 / RCN 15/613 HD

We are delighted to announce our 2022 Women of the Year, four incredible individuals whose many contributions have done so much for Brookline (and beyond). All four inspired multiple nominations this year from friends, colleagues, and admirers in the community. 

Our 2022 Brookline Women of the Year are:

Dr. Laurent (Lolly) Delli-Bovi, founder and medical director of Women’s Health Services in Brookline. A tireless and courageous champion for reproductive health and equity for over thirty years, Dr. Delli-Bovi has helped thousands of people with their decision to end a pregnancy, providing safe and compassionate care to all.

Chobee Hoy, for decades a cheerleader for local businesses, Chobee has also been a dauntless supporter, mentor, volunteer, and advisor to countless non-profit and civic organizations that form the warp and weft of Brookline life. 

Kimberley Richardson, a thoughtful and passionate civic leader, Kimberley's work to advance racial justice and equity raises the voices of those who are struggling in the Brookline community and ensures they are reflected in the decisions and direction of the Town.

Kate Silbaugh, a law professor who for years has contributed energy and expertise to improve Brookline’s schools and inform civic conversations, Kate last year was co-author and chief advocate for Brookline's first-in-the-nation bylaw to create a tobacco-free generation.

We will celebrate our Women of the Year at a virtual event on Wednesday, March 23rd from 7:30 – 8:30 p.m. JOIN US to congratulate and hear more about the work of these remarkable women!

Register for the Event at: https://forms.gle/meyRUPyokuTomxAe6

Congratulations to our 2022 honorees and their families!

A colorful poster lists the 2022 women of the year and the registration information above


Watch our Virtual Celebration of the 2021 Women of the Year honoring the following women:

  • Bonnie Bastien, founder of Mutual Aid Brookline. MAB volunteers have spent more than 10,000 hours since March 2020 delivering food and medications, financial assistance, and a helping hand in countless ways to the most vulnerable in the Brookline community.
  • Ann Brackett and Andrea Johnson, co-founders and leaders of Women Thriving, empowering and co-creating opportunities for women with low income to thrive through learning, leadership development, and community.

  • Deborah Brown, a leading advocate for racial justice, whose energetic work during Covid-19 moved Brookline to focus town attention and resources on vulnerable residents, especially those facing food and housing insecurity.

  • Kathleen Scanlon, leader of Brookline of Mothers Out Front, mobilizing Brookline’s efforts to reduce fossil fuel use, expand Brookline Green Electricity and composting, and drive legislative action to address climate change.

  • Chi Chi Wu, leader of the Brookline Asian American Family Network (BAAFN), supporting the needs of Brookline’s vibrant AAPI community and, during the pandemic, mobilizing Brookline to combat rising anti-Asian rhetoric and hate crimes.

  • (2020) Kim Kushner, Founder of Brookline Thrives
  • (2019) Lihua Shorter, World Languages Department teacher and adviser for the Asian Pacific American Club
  • (2018) Chloe Lara-Russack, Executive Co-Director of Artbarn Community Theater
  • (2017) Misti Jaynes, Community Activist and Collaborator
  • (2016) Rene Feuerman, Food Pantry Executive Director
  • (2015) Doreen Gallagher, Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Advocate and Violence Prevention Coordinator at BPD
  • (2014) Mary Dunne, BEEP educator
  • (2013) Rita McNally, Engaged Community Leader
  • (2012) Sonya Elder, Former Director of Food Services for Brookline Public Schools 
  • (2011) Janet Selcer, Former Director of Steps to Success
  • (2010) Molly Paul, Former Brookline Community Foundation Executive Director 
  • (2009) Hsiu-Lan Chang, Community Advocate
  • (2008) Vicki Milstein, BEEP Principal
  • (2007) Pat Norling, Domestic Violence Advocate
  • (2006) Sue Howard, Attorney