Brookline Commission for Women


  • Chris Chanyasulkit, Co-Chair
    Term Expires: 2018
  • Casey Hatchett, Co-Chair
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Cheryl Snyder, Treasurer
    Term Expires: 2018
  • Christine Fitzgerald, Secretary
    Term Expires: 2017

  • Jennifer Goldsmith
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Sonal Jhaveri
    Term Expires: 2018
  • Rita McNally
    Term Expires: 2017
  • Gloria Rudisch
    Term Expires: 2016
  • Jamie Tober
    Term Expires: 2017
  • Ginny Vaz
    Term Expires: 2017 
  • Grace Watson
    Term Expires: 2017
The Brookline Commission for Women (BCW) strives to support women in all aspects of their lives and to promote the cultural, racial, and economic diversity of Brookline.

  • To make ourselves visible as a resource for women in Brookline
  • To collect and disseminate information or women’s issues
  • To cooperate with other town agencies, other women’s commissions, and other service organizations for addressing women’s issues
  • To raise funds in support of our mission
  • To offer programming consistent with our mission
  • To bring women in Brookline together



In celebration of National Women’s History Month, the Brookline Commission for Women (BCW) is currently running its 26th annual “A Woman Who Inspires Me” Essay Contest and accepting nominations for the 2018 Brookline Woman of the Year. 

For the “A Woman Who Inspires Me” Essay Contest, all 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th grade students who live in Brookline or attend a public or private school in Brookline are eligible to submit an essay that honors a woman who inspires them.  

The “Women Who Inspires Me” essay contest is an important part of chronicling the history of women in Brookline and encourages students to reflect on those who make an impact on their lives.  Essay contest winners will be honored at an awards ceremony on Thursday, March 29th at 6:30pm in Hunneman Hall, Brookline Main Library. The ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Commission’s naming of the 2018 Brookline Woman of the Year.  

Student essays can be submitted online at or see attached entry form. To be eligible, essays must be received no later than February 26th. Winning essays will be announced on the BCW website and through email on/around March 6th.  Please contact BCW Co-Chair, Casey Hatchett at 617-730-2734 or via email at with any questions.

Mail in Entry Form (PDF)

For the 2018 Brookline Woman of the Year nominations, we are accepting nominations online at until February 28th.  Please contact BCW Co-Chair, Casey Hatchett at 617-730-2734 or via email at with any questions.

  • The BCW typically meets on the first Wednesday of every month (except for the month of August, when the BCW does not meet).  Please consult the town calendar for monthly meeting posts.  The meetings are typically held at 7:15pm at the Brookline Health Department's Library (2nd Floor, 11 Pierce Street, Brookline, MA 02445).